Saturday, July 30, 2016

Ubuntu Lecture and Dialogue Awards

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

As Turquoise Harmony Institute we host an award program titled Ubuntu Lecture and Dialogue Awards”. Before presenting awards, a prominent leader of society and thought presents an Ubuntu Lecture and the the receipients are presented with the awards. Annual dialogue awards are meant as recognition of individuals’ contribution to establishment and progress of peace, dialogue and social cohesion in society.

These awards are given in various categories such as Interfaith, art, media, academia, sports, community work, human rights and Gulen Peace award. Gulen Peace award was named after the Turkish Scholar Fethullah Gulen whose speeches and writings provided inspiration to millions to engage in such education and dialogue projects. Schools and intercultural dialogue organizations have been established in Turkey and then expanded to many parts of the world. Our organization also gets its inspirations mainly from his teachings.


The following are the honoraries according to years.


Peter james-Smith Media Award
Archbishop Fr George Daniel     
Interfaith Award


Dr. Jackie Loffell Community Service
Fr. Donal O’Mahony                       
Peace Award
Ms. Ela Gandhi Community Service



Ubuntu Lecture was delivered by by He Premiel N. Mokonyane

Mr. A.M. Kathrada

Gulen Peace Award
Narandan ‘Jody’ Kollapen Human Rights
Dr. Devi Moodley Rajab Media Award
Mr. Chester Williams Sports Award
Prof. Stanley Ridgen Academia Award
Archbishop Thabo Cecil Makgoba    
Interfaith Award
Fr. G. M Michelson Interfaith Award
Dr John Kani Art Award



Ubuntu Lecture was delivered by Hon. N. Pandor, Minister of Science of Technology

Dr. Frene N. Ginwala Gulen Peace Award
His Eminence Cardinal Napier Interfaith Award
Institute for Justice and Reconciliation Reconciliation Award
Mr. Vuyo Mbuli Media Award
Prof. Russel Botman Academia Award
Prof. Micheal Samuel
Education Award
Standard Bank Art Award
Sports Award
Mr Yusuf Abramjee-Crime Line Community Service
Mrs. Fatima Meer  Special Fidelity Award